Day 8: Joshua 1 – Judges 5

Recently a friend emailed me. Her pastor had shared it with her, someone else had passed it onto him, and then I put it on Facebook to share with others. It’s a very powerful verse from Joshua:

Joshua 1:9 I hereby command you: Be strong and courageous; do not be frightened or dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.’

My friend knows me well, and I found great inspiration from this. It resonates with other bible passages, such as 1 John 4.18:

“There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear; for fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not reached perfection in love.”

Or in the Benedictus from Common Worship Morning Prayer: to be “free to worship him without fear”.

The book of Joshua ends with a challenge by Joshua, to “choose this day who to serve”, and a covenant renewal – for the people to remain faithful to God.

And so, this Lent, my resolution is to not let my fear paralyse me; to remind myself and others that the Lord our God is with us wherever we go. To choose to serve God faithfully this day and every day. To be prepared to fail at achieving perfection in love. I am not a warrior like Joshua, more of a worrier. Yet, like Joshua, I have been called by God to lead His people, and with God’s help, I know I can achieve anything.

Mary Sutton

Read the Bible on line at Bible Study Tools. Today’s passage (NRSV) is here: http://www.biblestudytools.com/nrs/joshua/1.html

5 Responses

  1. Thanks for that Mary. God gave me Joshua 1: 1 – 9 when he called me, and the enormity of the task seemed almost overwhelming. Then I came to understand that if I used my faith, the size of a mustard seed, the power of God is released to move the mountain into the sea. What a relief; I didn’t have to get a shovel and start moving the mountain. Also, realising that it was God who gave me the faith in the first place, I knew I was fitted for anything that He has planned for me to do, however daunting it may seem.
    Blessings in Jesus,
    Tim

    • Thanks for sharing that, Tim. I know when I first looked at Joshua, the scale and the extent of the killing horrified me, and I didn’t want to minimise it, but I found it hard to relate to. But fear and faithfulness I could certainly relate to!

  2. I guess that Joshua must have felt pretty daunted taking over from Moses- hope for us all that we can cope, with God’s help and guidance.

  3. Powerful reflection, Mary, thank you.
    Hadn’t bargained on the eye strain this challenge is causing me – Ouch!!!! For any fellow sufferers out there suggest using one of many audio downloads available e.g http://www.faithcomesbyhearing.com. It’s nice to listen and handy if you are on the move in the car or at home or, like me, have eyeballs that feel like squeezed lemons!

  4. Thanks for your reflection Mary – encouraging and powerful. I certainly was blessed by reading it tonight as I settle to Joshua and Judges before bedtime.

Leave a Reply

